Misra’s blog

Types of auto insurance coverages

Posted by mtwinkle on July 24, 2007

Fault or no-fault coverage

If you live in a no-fault state, your own insurance company pays for any loss or injuries to you, no matter who causes the accident. With no-fault, most claims can be settled quickly, without litigation over who’s at fault. However, no-fault can limit your right to sue to recover damages. Individual states set the coverage and place limits on your rights to sue.

In fault states, the person at fault in the accident or the insurance company pays. With a fault system, your right to sue is not restricted (nor is the other party’s right to sue you). To find out what the regulations are in your state, contact your local Farmers agent.

Collision

Collision coverage pays for damage to your vehicle that results from a collision with another vehicle or object. Generally, the coverage reimburses you the amount needed to repair or replace your damaged vehicle, minus the deductible. This coverage is normally required if your vehicle is leased or if you have an outstanding loan on the vehicle.

Comprehensive

Comprehensive coverage protects your investment in your vehicle by paying for losses resulting from fire, theft, falling objects, riots, storms, earthquakes, floods, collision with a bird or animal and other natural occurrences. Like Collision coverage, Comprehensive coverage generally includes a deductible. Comprehensive coverage is normally required if your vehicle is leased or if you have an outstanding loan on the vehicle.

Deductible


The deductible is the amount of the loss you agree to pay or absorb in the event of a claim or accident. Let’s say you have a $250 deductible. If you have a fender-bender, and the bodywork costs $1150, you will pay the deductible – $250, and your insurance company will pay the balance – $900. With auto insurance, deductible amounts typically range from $50 to $1,000 per claim. Choosing a higher deductible reduces the cost of your insurance.

Bodily Injury

Bodily Injury coverage pays for any person(s) injured or killed in an accident where you are at fault. Coverage includes medical expenses and lost wages. These coverage’s are subject to the limits and conditions of your policy. Most states require drivers to carry Bodily Injury coverage.

Property Damage

In a collision where you are at fault, Property Damage covers your liability for damaging another person’s personal property, such as an automobile, house or fence.

Medical Payments

This coverage pays medical bills and funeral expenses for you or a passenger injured while riding in your vehicle. Coverage extends to you or a family member when riding as a passenger in someone else’s vehicle or when struck by a vehicle when on foot. Costs are covered up to the amount specified by the policy.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays a broader range of medical costs than does Medical Payments coverage. PIP covers lost wages and the replacement of the services of someone injured in an accident. Personal Injury coverage is generally required in states with no-fault and available in some other states.

Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist

Uninsured Motorist coverage protects you, members of your household and your passengers in an accident with a motorist who has no insurance or is underinsured. Uninsured Motorist protection also covers you if you’re injured by a hit-and-run driver. The coverage also applies to you and the members of your household as pedestrians. Coverage includes payment of medical costs, lost wages and pain and suffering. It is required in many states. In some states or insurance policies, Underinsured Motorist protection is separate from Uninsured Motorist coverage.

In addition to basic auto insurance, consider these optional services to provide added protection for your vehicle:

Emergency roadside assistance and towing service
Windshield glass repair service
Car rental reimbursement

27 Responses to “Types of auto insurance coverages”

  1. ps2 cheat

    Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work.

  2. cheap insurence

    Great Point, Excellent Post, Great Blog

  3. Yositsunez said

    Yositsunez

    Yositsunez

  4. seandell said

    I had a high deductable on my last car and ended up getting screwed. The Uninsured Motorist coverage did not cover me. I did however find this site https://www.betterratestate.com and changed quick to another company.

  5. I tried to submit a comment earlier, although it has not shown up. I will remember this. 252920

  6. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this put up and if I may I desire to suggest you some attention-grabbing issues or tips. Perhaps you can write subsequent articles regarding this article. I wish to read even more issues about it!

  7. Grant said

    I was suggested this web site through my cousin.
    I am now not certain whether this put up is written by means
    of him as no one else know such designated about my trouble.
    You are wonderful! Thank you!

  8. Right away I am going away to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming again to read more news.

  9. The fact on the matter is that idea not enough to have specifics of auto insurance,
    you also should collect info about other
    pursuits. Companies offer extended warranty automobile insurance plans at various levels.

    For these people, auto insurance sr22 filings are
    required so that they can legally drive in the state that they reside in.

  10. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I
    stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be interesting
    to read content from other authors and practice something from their sites.

  11. Fred said

    Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just
    too fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired
    here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise.

    I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific website.

  12. Mellisa said

    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Opera.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web
    browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue
    fixed soon. Kudos

  13. Taj said

    I drop a comment when I like a post on a website or I have something to contribute to the discussion.
    Usually it’s triggered by the passion displayed in the post I
    browsed. And on this post Types of auto insurance coverages « Misra’s blog.

    I was actually moved enough to leave a commenta response :
    -P I actually do have a couple of questions for you
    if it’s okay. Is it only me or does it look like some of these responses appear like they are written by
    brain dead individuals?đŸ˜› And, if you are writing on other sites, I would
    like to follow you. Would you make a list every one of your shared sites like your
    linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  14. I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you
    book marked to look at new stuff you post…

  15. Bethany said

    Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand so much approximately this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I feel that you simply can do with some % to drive the
    message house a little bit, but instead of that, that is wonderful blog.

    An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  16. I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  17. Excellent way of telling, and pleasant post to get information on the topic of
    my presentation focus, which i am going to convey in university.

  18. Loreen said

    I pay a visit day-to-day a few websites and blogs to read articles or reviews,
    however this weblog offers quality based writing.

  19. Debbie said

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you
    might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Wonderful blog by the way!

  20. Hi there, I found your blog by means of Google even
    as searching for a similar subject, your website came up, it seems
    to be great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply changed into aware of your blog via
    Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you happen to continue this in future.
    Numerous other folks can be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  21. Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this weblog; this website carries remarkable and truly good stuff in
    favor of readers.

  22. Elsie said

    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site
    with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information.
    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and fantastic style and design.

  23. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and the rest of the site is also really
    good.

  24. Micah said

    What’s up, yes this piece of writing is really fastidious
    and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

  25. Virgie said

    Anyone anywhere in the world who loves to cook and who is interested in learning how to cook Filipino food recipes only
    needs a working internet connection in order to be able to access and download
    famous Filipino food or. Years ago it would have been simple enough for a
    beginner to put on a piece of bread paste, or dig up a worm and use that.
    Dependency builds brand-loyalty in buyers minds and this is an extremely powerful psychological lever companies exploit to maximum effect to gain
    market share – hence all those bait-sponsored anglers wearing branded caps, T-shirts and hooded tops etc.

  26. To add to that, these recipes are also designed to help your body fight what is
    known to be the metabolic adaptation phenomenon. Years ago
    it would have been simple enough for a beginner to put on a piece of bread paste, or dig
    up a worm and use that. Dependency builds brand-loyalty in
    buyers minds and this is an extremely powerful psychological lever companies exploit to maximum effect to gain market share – hence all those bait-sponsored
    anglers wearing branded caps, T-shirts and hooded tops etc.

  27. Warner said

    Essentially the most commonly used supplies are psyllium husks, flax
    seeds, probiotics, apple juice, citrus juice, fiber powder, bentonite clay,
    fennel, garlic bulb, turkey rhubarb, curacao, cape aloe leaf,
    cascara sagrada, barberry root bark, ginger rhizome and cayenne pepper.
    Add chicken stock (liter) and bring to boil, add salt to taste, chicken
    seasoning, ground peppercorn, vetsin, cabbage
    and noodles. Dependency builds brand-loyalty in buyers minds and this is an
    extremely powerful psychological lever companies exploit to maximum effect to
    gain market share – hence all those bait-sponsored anglers wearing branded caps,
    T-shirts and hooded tops etc.

Leave a Reply

 
